Oh happy day, my first publication

I checked my e-mail on my lunch break at work earlier this month and saw I had an e-mail in response to a piece of writing I submitted months ago. I wasn’t having a great day, so I kinda sighed and thought to myself that I should go ahead and get reading my first rejection letter out of the way. It was, after all, a historic moment of sorts.

I opened the e-mail and can’t even describe the feeling that washed over me when I saw my piece had been accepted for publication. I’ve always heard the expression “on cloud 9” but I believe that is one of the few moments in my life where I’ve understood it. The rest of the day I felt sort of disconnected from the mundane things in my life, riding a disbelieving high.

I was even more amazed by the piece that was selected. I wrote it about 5 years ago and though I did a quick edit before submitting it remains very close to the way I originally conceived it. At the time that I wrote the piece one of my exes who is a creative writing major was looking over every piece of writing I made before I shared it with people. This piece sticks out in my memory because it was the first one where he made me post it without him offering approval or criticism first. He told me that if I was going to be a writer I had to get used to putting myself out there.

I have all sorts of ideas in my head of things to write, fantasy, poems, romance, etc. But lately I’d started to think that maybe I should stick to one area of writing. This piece that was accepted for publication is a sort of dark modern fantasy piece, not the area I was planning to limit myself to. So maybe this publication will help remind me not to write myself into a box.

With that in mind I registered for a workshop here called Drunk on Writing. I was selected to be one of the 12 women in this session, we will meet every 2 weeks for 6 months and write and critique pieces in various genres. I’m excited to see what new things I can produce and learn by participating.

Here is the link to the e-magazine where my short story “1,000 Lies to Break Your Fall” was published. Feel free to check it out if you’re interested. http://www.fictionmagazines.com/shop/romance-issues/romance-magazine-vol-02-09/

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

